When chocolate truffles meet Oreo cookies


Last night I was in the mood for experimenting. Chocolate-experimenting to be more specific. I had this basic dark chocolate truffle recipe at home but after a, lets say, bittersweet week that wasn’t quite enough. I bought some dark chocolate, some milk chocolate, some cocoa powder, heavy cream, oreo cookies, coconut milk, a mini bottle of rum, vanila extract and cinamon powder.
What came out from all of this?
Super rich full of flavour truffles! (:

I began following the original recipe by melting the cream, adding to the chocolate (I replaced 1/4 of the dark chocolate bar for 1/4  of milk chocolate)  mixing it all. Then I separated the mixture into 3 different little bowls where in one of them I added a tea spoon of coconut milk, on the other one I added a tea spoon of rum and finally on the last one I added a little drop of vanila extract. After stirring them I placed the 3 bowls in the fridge and left it for around an hour. Meanwhile I put 4 oreo cookies on a little plate, took the filling out and crushed them into crumbs (I used my hands but If you have a food processor, even better) leaving some tiny pieces as well. Can you see where I am getting?

To roll them I separated the cocoa powder into two plates in which one of them I added a pinch of cinamon. I rolled a few of them in the oreo crumbs, the others in cocoa powder and then I rolled the ones left in the cocoa-cinamon powder.

They came out lovely (:  my favourite one was the coconut-oreo ones. Next time I’m thinking about trying peanut butter or dulce de leche!

Here follows the classic dark chocolate truffles recipe so you can create your own ones:

Ingredients:
5 oz (140 grams) of good quality dark chocolate
1/4 cup heavy cream
pinch of salt

Cocoa powder or chopped nuts for rolling

Directions:

Chop the chocolate into small pieces and place into a small bowl. Heat cream, salt, and liqueur (if using) over medium heat until bubbles began to form along the edges. Pour cream over chocolate and let sit for a couple of minutes. Stir chocolate until smooth. If there are still unmelted pieces, microwave in 10-15 second bursts, stirring in between until all pieces have melted.
Scrap down the sides of the bowl and place in the fridge for 45 minutes to an hour. Once completely cooled, use a buttered melon baller, spoon, or small dough scoop to portion the chocolate in ~1 Tablespoon balls. (I cleaned up the shape by placing the ball of chocolate into my buttered palm and lightly rolling with the spoon.) If you have problems with the chocolate becoming too soft while you work, place the bowl in the freezer for ~10 minutes and then continue.
Place the truffle into cocoa powder (or chopped nuts, oreo crumbs) and roll to coat. Store in the fridge in an airtight container.
2 comments
  1. robbiebueno said:

    thanks Jennifer! (: x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

